When a claim is at the end of its life cycle, meaning it has been paid successfully, sent to collections or litigation, or found to not be worthy of filing a carrier claim, you can “close out” the file in ClaimWizard.
Closing or resolving a claim in ClaimWizard is a three-step process. You will need sufficient security access to close a claim.
- After opening the claim you would like to Close, click on the Menu button in the upper left corner. Select “Close Claim” from the dropdown.
- Select the reason you are closing the claim. Resolve Claim: This will close the current claim, marking it as either “settled”, “canceled”, or “other”. “Other” is useful in situations when a claim is closed but was not settled (e.g. litigation).
- Once a claim has been closed (resolved) a bar will appear at the top of the claim. A green bar means the claim was successfully closed. A red bar means the claim is resolved via cancellation or without payment.
Benefits to Closing / Resolving Claims in ClaimWizard
After a claim has been closed in ClaimWizard, it will no longer appear on the Workbench or in any active claim reports. Closed claims are not removed from the system and are always immediately accessible via the Canceled Claims report or via other various closed claim reports.